Ballymahon Vocational School in Longford crowned All-Ireland U-19 Basketball Champions

In a tremendous feat, Ballymahon Vocational School‘s U-19 men’s basketball team have been crowned All-Ireland Champions.

Ballymahon Vocational School. . . 33 St Ronan’s College, Lurgan. . . 29

St Ronan’s College, Lurgan of Co Armagh finished second in a thrilling ‘C’ league final played at the National Basketball Arena in Tallaght on Tuesday.

After a tentative first quarter, which saw both teams struggle offensively, the game came to life in the second quarter. There was nothing to separate the teams, as they entered halftime with 17 points apiece.

In the third quarter, a big three-pointer from Ballymahon’s Brian Mulvey was the scoring pick, which led them 28-23.

With less than two minutes remaining, only one point remained between the teams, 30-29. A three-point jump shot by Jack Doran, 1’37 from the end, opened a 33-29 lead at Ballymahon VS and that’s how it would end.

Ballymahon VS captain Jamie Brady was awarded MVP, while St Ronan’s College’s Stephen Devlin was the game’s top scorer with ten points.

U-19 ‘C’ Boys All-Ireland Schools League Final Result:

Ballymahon Vocational School. . . 33 (17) St Ronan’s College 29 . . . (17)

Top scorers:

Ballymahon VS – Jamie Brady 8, Jack Doran 7, Oran Killian 7

St Ronan’s College – Stephen Devlin 10, Conal McCann 6, Finn Creery 5


Ballymahon Vocational School: Eoin Kiernan, Brian Mulvey, Jamie Brady (C), Jack Doran, Ben Callan, John McCormack, Aaron Doherty, Ryley Murtagh, Eoin Duffy, Oran Killian, Danny Ryan, Manuel Mateo.

The Head Coach: Ben McCormack

St. Ronan College: Liam Carroll, John McAlinden, Tom Turbitt, Ciaran Maginnis, Liam Donohue, Stephen Devlin (C), Sean McNiece, Conal McCann, Domhnall McConville, Maitui McGibbon, James Donnelly, Finn Creery, Shaun McKenna.

The Head Coach: Caroline McGrath

Comments are closed.